Before Time We Were

© 2022 Rebecca NK Gibbs

Insight: Having responded to a prompt (details below) I attended Malcolm X Community Centre, St Pauls, Bristol, UK. We were between twenty and thirty IRL and via video conferencing. We were introduced and participated in movement ice-breakers as a warm up; energetic engagement with emotion and interpretation into movement. In small groups we choreographed pieces to present to each other and identify the emotion or emotions expressed.

The creative community discourse informed my practice as I subsequently wrote the words and captured the concepts of ‘Before Time We Were’.

I considered the definition of decolonising in the context of my ongoing research practice. In sharing this work with the group (05-03-2022) I touched on autonomy, of harnessing integrity separate from and in the absence of the colonial entity. From the responses and feedback I am reassured the nuances carried, landed and were embraced.

November auspicious dates 11:21

posting 050322

One thought on “Before Time We Were

Leave a comment