Libation @ 60 showreel

This show reel features Adinkra symbolism: a time honoured tradition of acknowledging the best of character traits and values in a series of symbols and Ghanaian sayings. This sacred tradition, once a source of pleasure & power reserved for Royals & religious elders has been safeguarded by a guild of generations of artisans in central Ghana. It is now offered to you as a tool for your own success fulfilment. 

The West African Art of Adinkra is a rich source of inspiration; pleasing to look at, balanced and strong in form (aesthetically) certainly, but also as a powerful cultural resource.

In addition one can appreciate that the practice and principles of Adinkra align with some of the core Success and Happiness practices as advised by leaders and researchers in the field.

Original presentation of Libation @ 60 in 2019 Exhibition “Articulating Actualisation” the The Island Gallery space, Bristol, UK, paper and mixed print media

Libation @ 60 is a piece of work conceived in 2017 and inspired by Ghana Independence. My early writings on the piece are as follows:

Libation @ 60 Insight:

I have experienced many a libation in my time particularly, but not exclusively, when connecting with my Ghanaian birth right. My understanding of the term differs slightly from those prompted by my definition search on the internet. A libation in Ghanaian terms, from my perspective, is an initiation ceremony implemented on the gathering of people together. It involves the speaking of words, the acknowledgement of ancestors and a blessing request, a liquid offering (normally referred to as schnapps, but any ‘hot’ alcoholic beverage) and a ‘call and response’ aspect where participants respond to the principal of the ceremony with an affirmatory reply.

Ghana Independence Day is the 6th of March (1957). My anticipation of this auspicious day was the catalyst for my piece Libation.

I used my experience and understanding of cultural practice; ceremony and symbolism to create the piece. It combines words of empowerment, blessing, affirmations and the maxims connected with Adinkra symbolism to underpin the piece. Happy Independence Day With Love – Akoma ntoaso – joined hearts – agreement or charter

Page scheduled to publish at 08:20 | a very special Birthday shout out to my dad Dr. JMG Rx

Leave a comment